clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Lynx Win 2011 WNBA Championship

For the best WNBA coverage you'll find anywhere, be sure to check out Swish Appeal.

Getty Images

One year after being one of the worst teams in the WNBA and winding up with the top overall pick in the 2011 WNBA Draft, the Minnesota Lynx are the 2011 WNBA Champions, completing a sweep of the Atlanta Dream on Friday night with a 73-67 victory at the Phillips Arena in Atlanta.

The Lynx were easily the best team in the WNBA in 2011, blasting their way to a 27-7 overall record, a full six games better than the next best team in the league. They followed that up by winning seven of their eight post-season contests, with their only loss coming in the opening round of the playoffs against the San Antonio Silver Stars.

Lynx forward Seimone Augustus was named the MVP of the post-season after averaging 24.7 points per game in the WNBA Finals.

Congratulations to the Minnesota Lynx on capturing the 2011 WNBA Championship. We hope to expand our coverage of the Lynx significantly going into the 2012 WNBA season.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.