clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Selection Sunday 2011: Where Will The Big Ten Teams Land?

All of the regular season action has been completed, and all of the post-season tournaments are in the book. The 2010-11 NCAA basketball season comes down to today, and the field will be announced here very shortly when CBS airs the 2011 NCAA Tournament Selection Special at 5:00 PM Central time.

The Big Ten is expected to get seven teams into the field, thanks to the performance of the Penn State Nittany Lions in the Big Ten Tournament. The Ohio State Buckeyes will more than likely be the number one seed in the entire tournament, and the Wisconsin Badgers and Purdue Boilermakers will find themselves among the top 16 seeds in the tournament. There will be plenty of Big Ten teams in the bottom half of the seedings as well, as the Michigan Wolverines, Michigan State Spartans, Illinois Fighting Illini, and Penn State Nittany Lions will all find themselves with seedings somewhere between number nine and number 12 when the brackets are announced.

Three of the four number one seeds have been all but decided, as the Kansas Jayhawks and Pittsburgh Panthers should join Ohio State as top seeds. The fourth number one seed has been up for debate over the past week or two, but the consensus seems to be that their victory in the ACC Tournament will put the Duke Blue Devils in that final number one spot.

However, nobody will know anything for sure until the brackets are revealed, and that time is just about half an hour away.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.