clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

University Of North Dakota Wins Second Consecutive Broadmoor Trophy

For the second consecutive year, the University of North Dakota Fighting Sioux have won the Broadmoor Trophy as WCHA Final Five Champions by beating the University of Denver 3-2 in double OT at the Xcel Enegy Center in front of a partisan crowd. Matt Frattin scored the overtime winner, his 35th goal of the season, after an outstanding goalie performance by Pioneers goalie Sam Brittain. Both were named to the All-Tournament team with Frattin being named the MVP.


Denver coach George Gwozdecky was happy with his team’s performance stating that there was “no shame in losing a game like this.” Wild prospect Jason Zucker also played well despite being injured in the second period.


The Sioux along with Denver, Minnesota-Duluth, Colorado College and Nebraska-Omaha will represent the WCHA in the NCAA Tournament. The selection show will air tomorrow at 10:30 Central time on ESPN2 and I will be covering the tournament for SB Nation MN as the Frozen Four is in St. Paul.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.