clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Hockey Gets One Step Closer to Reality

From multiple sources on Twitter, the Athletic Directors of the Big Ten conference have voted to make hockey and official conference sport starting in the 2013-14 season. Teams in the conference would be: Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, and Penn State.


It is going to take some serious convincing for me to get on board with this. A Big Ten hockey conference is a blow to the traditions of schools such as Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan. Schools like Penn State and Ohio State are going to get a huge boost from being able to ride the coat tails of those powerhouse schools.


The new conference also does strange things, such as leave four Minnesota D1 schools in one conference, and the U of M in another. The sheer number of ridiculous situations this decision creates is mind blowing.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.