clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Frozen Four: Andy Miele Wins 2011 Hobey Baker

With the ceremony just wrapping up at the Xcel Energy, Miami forward Andy Miele was awarded the 2011 Hobey Baker Memorial Award as college hockey’s top player. Leading the nation with 71 points, Miele was chosen over fellow finalists Boston College forward Cam Atkinson and North Dakota forward Matt Frattin. He becomes the first RedHawk and seventh CCHA player to win the award, which is chosen based upon the following criteria:

1. Candidates must exhibit strength of character both on and off the ice.

2. Candidates must contribute to the integrity of the team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game.

3. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportmanship.

4. Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules: be full time students in an accredited NCAA college or university; and complete 50% or more of the season.

Despite the large North Dakota contingent once again coming away with a different than they were hoping, there was a bit of good news for the Sioux faithful (who were very classy tonight after last night's faux pas). It was announced that Frattin signed a contract with the Toronto Maple Leafs (who drafted him in the 4th round of the 2007 NHL Draft) and would be suiting up for the Leafs in their final game this season. He joins both Miele, who recently signed with the Phoenix Coyotes, Atkinson, who signed with the Columbus Blue Jackets, and thirty other NCAA players who have signed pro contracts after the season.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.