clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vikings Release First Depth Chart

Earlier today, the Vikings released their first depth chart in preparation of their first pre-season game, and while there were many things that came as no surprise to anyone, some things were, if not surprising, at least eye opening.

First, from the ‘No Duh’ department: Donovan McNabb is the starting quarterback, but Joe Webb is listed second on the depth chart, ahead of Christian Ponder.

The running back depth is Adrian Peterson, followed by Toby Gerhart and Lorenzo Booker, and Ryan D’imperio is the starting FB. The offensive line, going from LT to RT, is Charlie Johnson, Stever Hutchinsin, John Sullivan, Chris DeGeare, and Phil Loadholt. Pat Brown and Thomas Welch are the backup tackles, and DeMarcus Love is the third string LT.

Not surprisingly, the tight ends are Visanthe Shiancoe and Jim Kleinsasser, but Kyle Rudolph is fourth on the depth chart behind Jeff Dugan.

On defense, the line is as expected, with Brian Robison, Remy Ayodele, Kevin WIlliams, and Jared Allen are the starters. Erin Henderson is listed as the starting weak side linebacker, with rookie Ross Homan backing him up. In the defensive backfield, no surprises with Antoine Winfield and Cedric Griffin listed as the starters, being backed up by Chris Cook and Asher Allen. the strong safety is Tyrell Johnson getting the nod over Jamarca Sanford, and Husain Abdullah listed as the free safety.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.