clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jim Perry Elected To Minnesota Twins Hall Of Fame

According to Phil Mackey of ESPN 1500, the Minnesota Twins have announced that pitcher Jim Perry has been elected as the twenty-third player to be inducted into the team's Hall of Fame.


Perry's best season with the Twins came in 1970, when he won the American League's Cy Young Award. That season, he pitched 278 2/3 innings, and won a league-high 24 games, posted a 3.04 ERA and struck out 168 hitters.


The Twins established their team's Hall of Fame in 2000 with an inaugural six-member class. . .Harmon Killebrew, Rod Carew, Tony Oliva, Kent Hrbek, Kirby Puckett, and former owner Calvin Griffith. The voting is conducted by 55 members of the local and national media, club officials, other Hall of Fame members, and a few selected fans.


Congratulations to Jim Perry on his accomplishment.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.