clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 MLB All-Star Game: National League Home Run Derby Participants Announced

The home run derby is the highlight and most exciting event of the All-Star Game festivities. On Sunday night, Home Run Derby captain Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers announced the field for the National League:

1. Giancarlo Stanton - Miami Marlins
2. Carlos Beltran - St. Louis Cardinals
3. Carlos Gonzalez - Colorado Rockies

Despite Kemp being sidelined since May 30 with a strained left hamstring, he does plan on participating in the home run derby. Kemp has registered 12 home runs so far this season.

Stanton of the Marlins has 19 home runs so far this season, Beltran has 20 and Gonzalez has 17.

The 2012 State Farm Home Run Derby will take place on July 9 at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City.

For more 2012 MLB All-Star game coverage, stay locked with this StoryStream. For more on the Twins, head over to Twinkie Town. And for more MLB news and expert analysis, be sure to check out Baseball Nation.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.