clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Home Run Derby: Prince Fielder Beats Jose Bautista In Final Round

The 2012 MLB Home Run Derby is over and The Detroit Tigers' Prince Fielder is the champ. He hit 12 home runs to best the Toronto Blue Jays' Jose Bautista in the final round on Monday night.

It's Fielder's second Home Run Derby win, as he won as a Milwaukee Brewer in 2009. The only other player to win the competition more than once is Ken Griffey Jr. (1994, 1998 and 1999).

Bautista's seven home runs in the final round were not enough. He hit 11 in the first round but only two in the second, needing to beat the Los Angeles Angels' Mark Trumbo in a swing-off to squeak into the final.

The other participants were the Cardinals' Carlos Beltran, the Rockies' Carlos Gonzalez, the Pirates' Andrew McCutchen, the Dodgers' Matt Kemp and the Yankees' Robinson Cano.

For more on the Minnesota Twins, check out Twinkie Town. For more news and analysis on the upcoming All-Star Game as well as everything going on during the break, check out Baseball Nation.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.