clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl Voting Update: Vikings' Adrian Peterson, Jared Allen Lead Their Positions

Adrian Peterson and Jared Allen lead their positions in Pro Bowl balloting votes so far, with Peterson fourth overall in the NFL and Allen tops among all defensive players.

The NFL released vote updates for the 2012 Pro Bowl for the first time on Wednesday, and Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson and defensive end Jared Allen lead their respective positions.

With 469,117 votes, Peterson tops all running backs and ranks fourth overall in the NFL in votes. Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers leads everyone in votes with 589,801 followed by New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady with 537,780 and Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson with 487,587. Peterson has run for 846 yards, averaging 4.6 yards per carry and has rushed for 10 touchdowns this season.

While Allen is not among the top 10 overall, he has received the most votes among all defensive players in the NFL, with 314,173. Allen has recorded 14 sacks this season and is chasing Michael Strahan's individual season record of 22.5.

According to a press release from the NFL on Wednesday, balloting will conclude on Monday, December 19 following the conclusion of Monday Night Football. The final Pro Bowl teams will be announced at 7 p.m. on December 27 during a special NFL Total Access 2012 Pro Bowl Selection Show on the NFL Network. The Pro Bowl is scheduled for January 27, 2012 at 7 p.m. from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii and will be broadcast live on NBC.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.