clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Vikings Announce 53-Man Roster; Claim Adibi From Texans

The Minnesota Vikings announced their 53-man roster for the 2011 NFL season yesterday, and they've already made a change to it.

Here is the list of players who made the big show for the Vikings.

QB: Donovan McNabb, Christian Ponder, Joe Webb

RB: Adrian Peterson, Toby Gerhart, Lorenzo Booker

WR: Percy Harvin, Bernard Berrian, Michael Jenkins, Greg Camarillo, Devin Aromashodu

TE: Visanthe Shiancoe, Jim Kleinsasser, Kyle Rudolph, Allan Reisner

OL: Charlie Johnson, Steve Hutchinson, John Sullivan, Anthony Herrera, Phil Loadholt, Jon Cooper, DeMarcus Love, Pat Brown, Seth Olsen and Brandon Fusco

DL: Jared Allen, Kevin Williams (suspended Weeks 1-2), Remi Ayodele, Brian Robison, Everson Griffen, Letroy Guion, Christian Ballard, Adrian Awasom, Fred Evans, D’Aundre Reed

LB: E.J. Henderson, Chad Greenway, Erin Henderson, Kenny Onatolu and Larry Dean

CB: Antoine Winfield, Cedric Griffin, Chris Cook, Asher Allen, Brandon Burton, Marcus Sherels

S: Husain Abdullah, Tyrell Johnson, Jamarca Sanford, Eric Frampton, Mistral Raymond

Specialists: LS Cullen Loeffler, P Chris Kluwe, K Ryan Longwell

On Sunday morning, the Vikings made another move, claiming linebacker Xavier Adibi off of waivers from the Houston Texans. Adibi, the Texans' fourth-round pick in the 2008 NFL Draft out of Virginia Tech, had played 34 games in the NFL in his three years in Houston. He has played as an inside linebacker in a 3-4 scheme in both college and the pros, so it remains to be seen where the team is going to try to use him.

No word has been sent out yet as to who the Vikings will release to make room for Adibi.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.