clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Adrian Peterson wins Ed Block Courage Award

The Vikings running back won the award as voted on by his teammates.

Joe Robbins

In what my be the first of several trophies taken home in 2012 by Adrian Peterson, the Minnesota Vikings running back was given the team's Ed Block Courage Award, as voted on by his teammates. One player from each NFL team is chosen as an Ed Block Courage Award recipient, with the league holding a ceremony for the players in Baltimore in March.

Peterson, of course, tore his ACL last season in a Dec. 24 loss to the Washington Redskins. Despite that devastating injury, Peterson did not only fail to miss a game, but he's managed to return better than ever. Though 14 games this season, Peterson has run for 1,812 yards on the season. He is averaging 129.4 yards per game and 6.3 yards per carry, numbers which blow away his previous career highs in each category. He's also scored 11 touchdowns on the year, though it would be nearly impossible for him to reach his previous career high of 18.

Peterson is also 294 yards away from Eric Dickerson's all-time single-season rushing record, and if Peterson tops that number, he may just steal some hardware from the likes of Peyton Manning or Tom Brady.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.