clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl rosters: Adrian Peterson leads quartet of Vikings headed to Hawaii

Jared Allen, Jerome Felton and Blair Walsh also earn Pro Bowl invites.

Scott Halleran

Four Minnesota Vikings have been named to the 2013 NFC Pro Bowl roster. Halfback Adrian Peterson, defensive end Jared Allen, fullback Jerome Felton and placekicker BIair Walsh will all be headed to Honolulu for the annual all-star contest, played the Sunday before the Super Bowl.

Peterson, who returned this season after a vicious knee injury prematurely ended his 2011 season, has set career highs for rushing yards (1,898) and yards per carry (6.0), and stands an outside chance of breaking Eric Dickerson's single-season rushing record Sunday against Green Bay. Peterson led all NFC players in fan voting totals. This is Peterson's fifth Pro Bowl selection in six pro seasons.

Allen is also receiving his fifth Pro Bowl selection. The veteran defensive end has racked up 43 tackles and 10 sacks so far this season. Jerome Felton spent much of the season as Peterson's lead blocker, carving massive holes for the record-setting running back. Felton does not have a carry this season, but did catch two passes for 18 yards. Walsh has been nearly perfect this season, making 32 of 35 field-goal attempts, including 9 from 50 yards or longer.

The Vikings doubled their total Pro Bowl selections from 2011, when Allen and linebacker Chad Greenway were selected.

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.