clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall Of Fame Voting: Who Will Be The Next Viking?

With the announcement that Chris Doleman is headed to the Pro Football Hall of Fame later this year in Canton, Ohio, The Minnesota Vikings and their fans can now begin wondering who their next Hall of Fame selection will be. there are several possible choices over the next few seasons, and Pro Football Talk broke down who is eligible in each of the next five years.

The first player with former Vikings ties that might get in is kicker Morten Andersen in 2013:

Andersen is a tough case. Only one pure kicker, Jan Stenerud, is in the Hall of Fame, and although Andersen certainly has a strong case as the NFL’s all-time leading scorer, no kicker can ever be viewed as a lock for the Hall. It’s worth noting that one of the biggest annual Hall of Fame arguments revolves around punter Ray Guy, who hasn’t been inducted but frequently makes the list of finalists.

The 2016 class presents another famous pair of Vikings, with Randy Moss and Brett Favre (assuming they stay retired):

The debate about Moss’s Hall of Fame merits has already started, and there will be a similar debate about Owens. Both guys did some incredible things on the field, but both also wore out their welcomes on multiple teams and were ultimately considered more trouble than they were worth. It wouldn’t be surprising if the Hall of Fame selection committee puts them both in Canton the first year they’re eligible, but it also wouldn’t be surprising if neither one of them gets in.

For more on the Minnesota Vikings, go to Daily Norseman. You can also head over to SB Nation's main NFL hub at

Photographs by Micah Taylor, clairity, and Fibonacci Blue used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.